My First Christmas

Ever since I was a little girl I have been learning about what Christmas is.  I have heard the Christmas Story plenty of times, my family has a Christmas routine that I have enjoyed repeating the last 23 years of my life.  Something was missing though.  I knew what Christmas was, I knew why we celebrate it, I knew what it represented, I knew all about Jesus.  But I did not know Jesus as my personal Savior, or so I thought.  I did not feel his love.  This is the first year I will be celebrating Christmas actually feeling God’s love.  Actually knowing the Savior of the world personally, I have “known” him all my life but this year is the first year I choose God over everything else in the world.  I realized how cool this was listening to Christmas music today.  The one Amy Grant song, some of the lyrics go like this…

Fragile finger
Sent to heal us
Tender brow prepared for thorn
Tiny heart
Whose blood will save us
Unto us is born
Unto us is born
I have heard this song over and over again for the last 10+ years, never feeling my heart ever so gently touched by the sound of these words.  This year, when I heard those lyrics I actually shed a tear.  How beautiful, how precious is our Savior.  Tiny heart whose blood will save us, and it has, and it will forevermore.  How blessed I am to have accepted such a sacrifice.  I thank the Lord for bringing me to the point where I am today; as hard as it was.  I am to the point where I understand that I will never fully understand the depth of those words, the pain and love behind every one of them.  My heart breaks for others still living in suffering and turmoil.  It is my prayer they find the Lord’s peace and accept the beautiful sacrifice of Jesus’ blood.
Leave a Reply

