Empty Promises

I still so clearly remember the day I asked someone to promise me that they would never hurt me. I am uncertain what is more foolish, asking someone to make a promise like that, or promising to keep that promise to someone. Both statements are highly out of reality. The only being in the entire world that can make and keep a promise like that is God himself. Why do we expect others to never hurt us?

I truly believe that people have the best intentions in the world. I do not think people go around plotting different ways they can break promises and hurt others. We are all human, and if we are not constantly immersing our lives in the Lord’s Word, we put ourselves in a perfect position for Satan to try and get the best of us. The Bible acts as our shield against Satan. The more time we spend learning God’s truths and commandments, the harder it will be for Satan to get a hold of us. Even with that said, we still are all imperfect. How do we deal with the pain of hurt feelings, distrust, and betrayal?

With God every little thing will be ok, even hurt. The Lord is our comfort, and he will comfort us when we are hurt by someone we love and believed loved us. God is our constant, he is never changing, he will never leave us or forsake us, he will never betray us, or hurt us. He is incapable of ever harming us. When we believe that in our hearts, the truth empowers us to turn to God for help and not let a crushed promise completely ruin our lives. I know sometimes it seems like the end of the world when bad things and hurtful things happen to us, but it is truly only the beginning. You can look at those times to grow closer to your Mighty Comforter, Jesus Christ. It is the start of an even closer relationship with the one and only true love of your life; Jesus Christ.

God taught me a lot when I was holding onto that broken promise, pleading with it for years. It was not about my hurt, it was about what I was missing. It is impossible to go through life without ever being hurt by someone, just as impossible as it is to say you will never hurt someone. The only promise I will strive for is the one I make with God every morning, promising Him my heart and soul; that I will turn to Him for guidance, and will make Him top priority over every little and big thing going on every moment of that day. That is the only thing I can demand from anyone else; that they make that promise to God too. I know when that someone is making a promise like that to God; they will not be making any empty promises to me.

Leave a Reply

