Living of God

I will never forget the day my sister said to me, “You did it Di; you are living in the world not of the world”!  It still makes me smile when I think back to that day.  It was the first day of living a FREE life in Christ.  For so long I was struggling with fitting in, and trying to please everyone.  I wanted everyone to love me, and I would go to any extreme to make this happen.  My life was completely dependent on what others wanted for it, and I tricked myself into believing that it was exactly what I wanted too.  I was living my life for this world.  I was trying so hard to find my happiness and love in this world.  No wonder I was struggling with so much; living of this world will leave you feeling extremely empty and incomplete.  How do you do it then, how do you not let this world consume you?

You have to realize that you need to change.  When you are getting more excited about falling in love with a handsome man or gorgeous woman and not God, you are living of this world.  When you are more concerned with going out and partying with friends rather than going to a small group for fellowship, you are living of this world.  When you decide to base your morals and decisions on other people or things that look appealing to your eye rather than letting the Bible be the basis for everything you stand on in this world, you are living of the world.  After many countless nights of disappointment and frustration I realized something needed to change.

 “Whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things” (Philippians 4:8).  This verse inspires me because it really is as simple as thinking about life with Christ.  God is truth, he is noble, he is always right, pure, He is so lovely, and we sure do admire Him, He is beyond excellent and worthy of all of our praises.  Think about that, no really think about it.  Every time you try to fit in with the “cool crowd” or have a desire to be something of this world; really think about what it is like to be of God! 

This world will not last.   This world is not our friend; there is nothing in this world that can save us.  This world does not want us to be happy; this world does not love us.  When I was living of the world I think my happiness lasted for a day and a half.  Every time I tried to fit into this world, it drew me further and further away from the life God had already chosen for me.  John 15:19 says, “If you were of the world, the world would love you as its own; but because you are not of the world, but I chose you out of the world, therefore the world hates you.”  I am totally ok with this world hating me, it has nothing for me.  The only thing I can do in the world is live my life pleasing to God and sharing His truth and grace with everyone I meet, so they too can get out of this world’s trap and into the life God has planned for them! 

One thought on “Living of God

Leave a Reply

