You Lose

Here is another devotional for Groundwire, that I simply love, hope you do too.

One thing I have learned about this life is that people really want to win; no one wants to be the loser.  Think about it, when watching your favorite sports team you get so caught up in the excitement of a win!  Maybe you do play sports or are involved in a competitive activity in which you constantly feel the pressure to win.  Winning in our society is very important.  Everyone wants to be number one.  People want to win fame, fortune, beauty, love, and happiness.  I often wonder why winning is so important in this life.

I challenge you to think about this, the greatest satisfaction in life is losing yourself to let God win your life to glorify Him and bless others.  I truly believe that statement, I wrote it down several months ago as I was spending some one on one time with God.  He spoke to my heart with that statement.  I believe losing is one of the worst feelings, but is one of the best things that can happen to us in order to strengthen and grow in our relationship with Christ.

I have lost a lot of things in this life.  I have lost people who I thought were my best friends.  I have lost loved ones who have passed away.  I have lost my first love who I believed to be my only love.  Of all of the things I have lost nothing caused more pain than when I thought I lost God in my life forever.  I felt dead in a way, I felt alone, and I felt like a loser.  One of my favorite parts of the Bible is the following words found in Jeremiah 29:14 “I will be found by you,” declares the Lord.  Truth be told, we can never lose God.  God never leaves us, even in the storms of life.  Even when we disobey God, He is still with us.  When we try to turn away from the Lord, even then, He will not leave us, He will wait patiently for us to come back to Him.  It is in our struggles of disobedience when we finally decide to choose Jesus over everything else, and that is when we truly find Him in our lives. 

In order to win God, you must lose everything in this world that is hindering your relationship with God.  You must lose control of circumstances in your life that cause you to stress.  You must lose the ideas you have for your life, and win God’s plans for your life.   The beauty of losing our lives to God is that when we do that, we are not losers at all!  We are winning the most beautiful gift of all time, the love, mercy, and grace of Jesus Christ. 

 

Leave a Reply

