Why Am I SO Lopsided??

Have you ever heard of people leaving their coffee cups on the roof of their car and driving away?  I have seen it first hand.  Things like that always make me smile, and think to myself, how does one do something like that??  Well, I think I have found the answer to that question.  I had my very own “leave your coffee on your car roof and drive away moment” on Sunday although it was not my coffee, and it had nothing to do with the roof of my car.

Stress.  I hate everything this word represents.  I know hate is a strong word, but really I HATE everything this word represents.  Stress is no good for anyone.  Stress is poisonous.  Stress is something I seem to have in my life a lot, just when I get rid of it, something else happens that causes new stress.  Stressed is definitely an accurate word to describe how I have been feeling lately.  Saturday night, all I wanted to do was sleep.  Would you guess I had a stressful day on Saturday?  So much, that I had huge stomach pains all night Saturday.  This is what happens when I am stressed.  So instead of sleeping soundly, I was tossing and turning and getting so irritated that my stomach would not stop hurting.  By the time Sunday morning rolled around, it was time to get ready for church.

You know, something really weird happens when I am stressed…it is like I am unable to function.  I do things that are just strange.  This behavior is probably caused by lack of sleep, food, energy, and God!  So, Sunday morning while running around my apartment like a mad woman for the shoes I wanted to wear, I realized they are not in my house after all, they are in my car.  So I put on a different pair of shoes to walk to my car in, locked my door, and headed to church, praying that the Lord would comfort my weary soul.

I am driving along and am stopped at a red light for a ridiculously long time.  Perfect time to change my shoes!  Now, I only changed the left foot.  Trying to change the shoe that was placed on the foot that was placed on the brake would have been a very dangerous endeavor for me, my shoe, my car, and the poor innocent car in front of me.  By the time I get to church, I am not thinking about anything other than the fact that I am late for church.  I HATE (there is that word again) being late for church.  I get out of my car, start walking (I take about 4-5 steps) and I am thinking to myself, why the heck am I so lopsided?  My goodness, this is so strange!  Then all of a sudden, it hit me.  I FORGOT TO CHANGE MY OTHER SHOE!  I would like to take the time to point out one shoe is a wedge, the other is a flat.  And there it was, my very own leave your coffee on your car roof and drive away moment.  If I would have made it all the way to church (thank goodness I did not) that is exactly what people would have been thinking, with a smile on their face, How in the world did she manage to do that?

I totally get it now.  People have these moments in life, because they are lopsided.  Yes, I literally was lopsided, but we are all lopsided when we focus too much of our energy, time, and life concerned with the stresses and day to day circumstances in this world, and not enough time absorbing God’s truths, love, care, strength, and help.  How lopsided are you?  I am seriously thankful for this silly shoe and for this awful stress because I figured something out on Sunday.  After I changed my shoe to match and had a slight break down, a very dear woman from church helped me realize even with the same shoes on, I was still oh so very lopsided.

I was involved in so much, yes they were all great amazing opportunities I was blessed with to serve God, but it was consuming my time.  Here I was doing, doing, doing, and there was no rest, no more time to spend with God, and no peace.  I never thought trying to satisfy the desires in my heart would lead me further away from God but that is exactly what my overbooked schedule was doing.  God placed those desires in my heart of that I am certain.  Instead of waiting for Him to fulfill each one, I tried to do it on my own and in the process ended up completely overwhelmed.  Anytime we choose to do something over spending time with God to keep us  rested, strong, peaceful, and filled with His love, we will be lopsided.

Think about your lopsidedness (yes I think I just totally made that word up).  Think about the areas of your life you need to get rid of and let God into so you are able to walk the straight path the Lord has planned perfectly, just for you!

Psalm 37:4-5

Delight yourself in the LORD;
And He will give you the desires of your heart.

Commit your way to the LORD,
Trust also in Him, and He will do it.

3 thoughts on “Why Am I SO Lopsided??

  1. Great posting!! Thank you for sharing! And I too have been lopsided and know exactly what you mean!! I’ve had to rid myself of my “lopsidedness” as well!
    Blessings to you sister!!

  2. I can sooo relate to this! No, I’ve never driven away with a coffe cup on the roof of my car, or left the house (or car :)!) with two different shoes on, although I HAVE gone to work with my old “kick around the house” sneakers on! Oh how much time we waste trying to do too many things in our own strngth and energy. God, help us to order our priorities according to YOUR plans for us! Thanks so much, Di, for this timely reminder.

Leave a Reply

