verses that changed my life in 2012

I was so excited for 2012 last year!  It was the first year I was completely free from my tormenting past.  It was the first year I was fully embracing my relationship with the most important person in my life, Jesus.  I guess I was expecting so much from ME.  My expectations for myself proved to be a disastrous failure.  However, the expectations of my GOD proved to sustain me through the year.  He showed me every single one through the quiet moments I shared with Him, reading the Bible or just praying.  I learned that when my expectations fail–and they usually always will (unless those expectations are in line with God’s plan) God shines his hope, joy, and love through it all. 

One thing 2012 was for me was a waiting period, 2013 may be the same way, but I am learning to fully trust God while waiting for something to happen–something to fulfill those expectations.  One thing I am taking into 2013 with me is words spoken by my grandmother that make my heart smile SO BIG “As you wait, you can be guaranteed of one thing, God’s blessings will be far greater than your expectations”.  That’s it–the something I am waiting for to fulfill my expectations is the promise that God will bless me far more than I am capable of imagining.  Thank you Jesus!

Honestly, the thing I am most excited about in 2013 is continuing the reading plan I have in my Chronological Bible.  I have never read through the whole Bible before and that is just what I am going to do in 2013.  I pray that I do not lose this excitement and determination.  I have my grandmother to inspire me through this, she reads the entire Bible EACH YEAR!  I am striving to be doing the same thing each year!  Thank you Jesus for blessing me with an absolutely amazing, God fearing, beautiful grandmother.

Below are some verses that have impacted me a great deal throughout the year.  Either as I read them, I cried because they touched me that much, or I smiled because they comforted me that much, or they made me instantly praise God because they filled me with joy that much, or they made me sit down and take a look at my life and strive to get rid of all of the yuckiness it sometimes becomes. 

Proverbs 18:10 The Lord is a strong-tower, the righteous run into Him and are safe.

when I first read this verse, I cried.  I started the year out with this verse.  When I read it all I thought was thank you so much Jesus that I am safe all because of you.  For a girl who had lived most of her life in fear, this was just the verse I needed to begin a year empty of fear and full of the Lord.

John 10:10  The thief comes only to steal, kill, and destroy, I have come so that they may have life and have it abundantly. 

My sweet sweet sister shared this verse with me.  Explaining it to me you could just picture the excitement in her heart.  She said she wanted this to be her life verse.  This has become my life verse as well.  Satan wants to destroy us so badly, but he cannot.  Just because we are not in Heaven yet, doesn’t mean we cant live out the life God intended us to live!

2 Corinthians 10:5 We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ

I almost forgot that at the beginning of 2012 I really struggled with this.  I forgot because that is just how far the Lord has brought me in this struggle in a year’s time.  It was nice to have one of my sisters struggling with the same thing as me.  We were a great encouragement for one another.  My thoughts used to drive me insane, now I have really embraced holding each thought captive and living an obedient life to Christ not only through my actions but also through my thoughts.

Psalm 62: 5-8 Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from Him.  He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress I will not be shaken.  My salvation and my honor depend on God; he is my mighty rock, my refuge.  Trust in him at all times, O people; pour out your hearts to him, for God is our refuge. 

I have come to love this passage so incredibly much.  I first found it while I was brainstorming ideas for a women’s singles online bible study group.  I find myself going back to this verse, a lot.  This past year I most definitely have been learning to trust God all of the time.  It was so easy for me to trust him in the hard times of my life.  But this past year, I did not have any real deep struggles to work through (thank you Jesus).  That is what made it so hard for me to trust God.  Here I was living day by day wanting something more, wanting something huge, trusting that God would make something happen like what I wanted was a hard concept to grasp.  Months would pass and still nothing like what I pictured had happened, trust became more difficult.  Then I found this verse.  Trust in the Lord at ALL TIMES.  Not just when times are bad, but when they are good too.  I have learned to trust God when he promises me His blessings will be better than what I may want to happen.  I have learned to trust that these little moments he gave me throughout 2012 are the BIG THING I was annticipating, they just came in little doses.   

Revelation 12:11 They overcame him by the blood of the Lamb and by the word of their testimony

Thank You Jesus for overcoming satan by your blood that was shed.  Thank you for letting me overcome my past by giving me the strength and courage to share my testimony with others, giving all of the glory to you alone.

Psalm 73:28 But for me it is good to be near God.  I have made the soverign Lord my refuge; I will tell of all your deeds.

As much tragedy as this country has faced this year; from the death of courageous soldiers fighting for our country to little innocent children being taken from this world all too soon, it is hard to find the good.  It is hard to think why, how, what is going on in this world?  I have learned and continue to trust that even in the most hopeless–most definitely not good situations, it is GOOD TO BE NEAR GOD.  That is a promise my life surely depends on.  Things may happen to me or loved ones or perfect strangers, but one thing remains in these bad moments–God is good and for me, it is ALWAYS GOOD TO BE NEAR TO HIM.

 

Leave a Reply

