What If We Have This All Wrong?

And by this, I mean Relationships. 

Trust in the Lord with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding…Proverbs 3:5-6

What if we understand relationships to be something different from what God intends them to be?

And by we, I mean you and me.

What if my desire causes me to trust the Lord with only part of my heart?

And by desire, I mean my desire to be in a relationship with a man, not just any man: the man God has planned to join me in our story.

I see desires as gifts from God.  Gifts are good, right?  They certainly are, as long as they are opened by God’s hands and not my own.  On my own, I will spoil the excitement waiting underneath the pretty paper.  Trusting my whole heart to God means letting Him have back those gifts He has blessed me with.  For in His hands, is where the gifts will unfold exactly the way He planned.

In my almost twenty-five years of life, I have wanted so badly to understand relationships.

When I was younger, I wanted to understand why all of these old couples were holding hands, while I thought the boy that tried to hold my hand at recess was infested with cooties.

When I was a little bit older, I wanted to understand how to get one of these formerly infested “boys” to hold my hand.

Even older, and I wanted to understand how to marry this hand holding man one day.

What if we weren’t meant to understand everything about relationships?

Trust in the Lord with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding…Proverbs 3:5-6

We do not lean on the understanding of what we see with our own eyes; instead we trust our Lord in Heaven with the unseen.

What I see in our world pertaining to relationships makes me want to pluck my eyes out!

I see men treating women as though they are less than a person.  I see abuse being confused for love.  I see women throwing themselves at men for a chance to feel loved, accepted, worthy?  I see divorces because people are no longer happy.  I see marriages that are falling apart and no one fighting to keep them together…

There is just so much I see that truly breaks my heart.  With all of this in sight, there is also something else I see: THE NEED FOR A RELATIONSHIP WITH GOD IN THE MIDST OF IT ALL.

One day I opened my Bible to understand this relationship with God.  I have found, opening the Bible, opens our hearts to a relationship with GodThe heart breaking relationships that flood my vision can easily be restored when we commit ourselves first and foremost to God Himself!

Through our relationship God has given me advice for the relationship I will have with the man He intends for me to marry one day.  I do not see this advice carried out anywhere in the world I am living in.   I know that people think I am crazy for not conforming to what our world says about relationships, but I choose to not conform because of the following truth God has instilled in my life:

Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will…Romans 12:2

The relationship I am holding our for is one that is rarely seen in our world.  This relationship is how God intended “I do” relationships to be: one in which I will be united to my husband who understands God’s love and God’s Word, and desires to let his relationship with me reflect the relationship between Christ and his church!  This is not going to be with a man conforming to the world, but rather someone who is standing out in God’s plan for His life.  I am not supposed to understand how this relationship will unfold.  I trust the hands that hold this relationship enough to do all of the understanding for me.  As He removes each layer of wrapping, God will reveal to me all I need to understand.

Thank you Jesus!

2 thoughts on “What If We Have This All Wrong?

  1. Beautiful post. I’ve struggled with having the proper perspective on relationships my whole life so a lot of this resonated with me. Good for you for giving it to God completely – something I need to do as well, thank you for the reminder!

    • The reason why I write about this topic is because I too struggle a lot with it. Keep seeking God He will help you! Don’t be discouraged, I have to keep giving it all to God over and over again sometimes. But God is patient with me and really does help me so much!

Leave a Reply

