Sweet October

I remember the pain of October’s past.

My shrill voice echoes the room.

“Everyone I love said Happy Birthday to me except you”

Tears flooded my sight.

Get me to bed fast so I can sleep away the pain.

If only sleep took away the memories.

I remember the pain of October’s past.

You spot me out of the crowd, but do you even see me?

Our eyes meet but it is as if we are strangers.

The closer we get, the more numb I become.

Wounds were formed on my birthday, without you ever being present.

I remember the pain of October’s past.

My heart is missing a huge chunk.

Where are you?

Trying to be strong, but feeling so weak.

I remember the pain of October’s past.

Could this October be different?

Surrendering the pain.

Giving You the dirt.

Could a flower possibly grow from this soiled soil?

I remembered the pain of October’s past.

Feeling Your freedom, for surely I am free.

Trusting Your wounded hands with my weary soul.

Watching You turn my dirt into Your masterpiece.

Transforming me.  Loving me.  Forgiving me.

Our sweet memories of this October and the ones to come are washing away the horrors of October’s past.

Seeing your beauty in every spot of dirt from October’s past!

This is a Sweet October, thank You for all You do!

2 thoughts on “Sweet October

Leave a Reply

