DIVE

Have you ever heard of people choosing a word for the new year? Some ladies I know decided to choose a word of 2013. I loved this idea. Their word seemed to be something God was teaching them at that time or something He gently laid on their heart. I really wanted a word too. I tried to figure out what one word I would choose. The problem was I discovered a list of about 40 + words that God was really working on with me. I did not want to choose one just to say I had a word for 2013, so I started off 2013 wordless or word-full I guess.

Last year, my favorite part of New Year’s Day was writing about my favorite verses that God used in my life in 2012.  I had all intentions of writing about the verses that came alive to me in 2013.  As I sat down to write…ONE WORD simply would not leave me alone.  DIVE.

Why dive?

I followed God to India this past June.  This trip was all Him.  I was nowhere to be found in His perfect will for my life.  I was blown away by what God did in India, and what He is doing right now as my fingers move along my keyboard.  I was so honored that He let me witness His work in India.  It was a privilege I do not think I can ever find the words to describe to you this side of Heaven.

After coming home from India, I learned very quickly I left something behind.  My heart is with sixty precious princesses of the Most High King.   Some days I did not know what to do with my heart being somewhere I am not.  All I could do was dive into God’s word.  All I could do is trust in Him.  So I did.  I struggled through not knowing what to do and found myself holding onto God’s sovereign hand.

One day as I was traveling hand in hand with God, He whispered in my ear, “India was your diving board into My ocean.”

In His ocean is where His words come alive to me.  Every single one of them.  The ones that melt my heart and make me feel like His most prized possession are found to be true while leaping into His ocean.  The ones that leave me breathless and tearful are found to be treasured possessions of mine while in His ocean.  The best example of this ocean to date was found in India.  Not only did His words come alive to me right before my eyes, they also came alive to the ones who needed Him the most, and found Him in that moment!

In life, I find myself on the ledge of the diving board more often than not.  I am consumed with fear, afraid of the unknown.  As I stand on the ledge taking a peek what lies below, I wonder if I am truly courageous enough to finally jump.  Going to India proved that with the power that comes from God’s hand alone, I am able to DIVE into His desires for me.

As I look over the past year, I am filled with joy remembering the moments I dove hand in hand with God into His will for my life.  I can only desire the same for 2014.  I want to fearlessly DIVE into all He has for me.  I am thankful that when I find His courage to dive wherever He is leading there will always be His Words welcoming me.

Thank you Jesus for diving hand in hand with me!

Ephesians 3:20-21 Now to him who is able to do immeasurable more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be the glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.

Leave a Reply

