Finally Finishing what I Started

Just off the top of my head…

There are seven Bible studies I have started and never finished.  I know there are more, but seven is bad enough really.  Some I only got into about three pages.  Others I was almost to the end, but I stopped. 

I was very seriously thinking about this the other day. 

Why do I do this?

What is wrong with me?

What have I missed by not finishing what I have started?

I do not just do this with Bible studies by the way.  I do this with just about every thing.  There are very few movies I have seen the beginning and end of.  I usually fall asleep somewhere in the middle.  The end of hotdogs.  I NEVER finish the end of a hotdog.  Not that I eat hotdogs very often, but when I do the last end is always left untouched by me.  Books.  Truly, the only book I have ever read from front to back is A Lady in Waiting. 

When I was contemplating all of these facts in my head the other day a crazy thought came across.

What if I decided to pick back up where I left off in every single Bible study I never finished.  Because really I do not care that I haven’t finished movies, books or hotdogs, but it really bothers me that there are so many unfinished Bible studies lying around my house. 

What if the ONE thing God planned for me to get out of a study is waiting for me on the unfinished pages even though all along I though I have already received that ONE thing?   

I really want to finish each study I have started.  I believe with my whole heart that God’s timing is the best.  Even though these studies were done at a perfect time in my life, they were not finished at the perfect time in my life.  Maybe now, my heart is ready for those “new” pages.  Maybe now is the perfect time to start finishing them. 

I am not the same person I was when any of these studies were first started.  I am constantly changing thanks to my Jesus.  Every day I spend with Jesus, I am growing more and more into the someone He wants me to be.  Maybe this is why I have not finished what I have started.

I have no idea what to expect for this journey, but with Jesus leading the way I can only imagine it will be better than anything I can think up at all. 

So, here I go: finally starting all I have never finished. 

 

Leave a Reply

