What is in Your Heart?

Deuteronomy 11:18  Fix these words of mine in your hearts and minds; tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads.

Proverbs 3:3  Let love and faithfulness never leave you; bind them around your neck, write them on the tablet of your heart.

Proverbs 7:2-3  Keep my commandments and live, and my teaching as the apple of your eye.  Bind them on your fingers; write them on the tablet of your heart.

I believe with my entire being that God’s Word is holy, perfect, true.  I see God’s Word all over our world.  I stumble across certain scriptures on decorative signs to hang on the walls of your home (which I happen to be a huge sucker for).  I see a lot of Bible verses posted on Facebook walls.  I notice Scriptures on clothing and billboards.  If our eyes are open I am sure we will see God’s Word spread all around us each and every day.  Let me ask you something I felt God ask me recently, Is your heart open to receive His Words?

I presume this is an important question to really think over and answer honestly.  And this is why:

If we see with our eyes God’s Words but do not secure His Words to the walls of our hearts we miss out on the transforming power His Words can have in our life.  He wants us to store up in our hearts all of the treasures He prepared for us to receive from His Word.  There is no problem to have God’s Words scattered across the walls of our homes, the desk space at the office, our Facebook/Twitter accounts as long as those very Words are fastened firmly to the walls of our Hearts first.

I am thankful God has asked me such a bold question.  I know He is thankful that I answered it honestly.  Every day God is showing me what it looks like to have His Words in my heart.  I desire for others to see what is transforming me from the inside out: the treasures of His Words stored up in my heart.  I pray that they too will be transformed by what they see and start to open their hearts to receiving all they will ever need, Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

