Something New

Isaiah 43:18-19

“Do not call to mind the former things,
Or ponder things of the past.
“Behold, I will do something new,
Now it will spring forth;
Will you not be aware of it?
I will even make a roadway in the wilderness,
Rivers in the desert.

These verses have kindly interrupted my life in the last couple of months.  I was eager for God to teach me what He wanted me to learn through these words.  Being the first day of a new year it seems so appropriate to share what it is He is teaching me.

In 2014 there have been more times than I can count where I have cried out, “I cannot do this.”  There were a lot of times in the past year where I wanted to give up.  I wanted to follow the ways of the world because it was easier.  I failed a lot.  I failed so much I felt like the world’s biggest failure.  How did I get here?  In this wilderness of sin and lies.

No matter what kind of wilderness you are trying to find your way out of right now, God is there.  Making a way.  He is making a way for you to find Him.  (Jeremiah 29:14)  He is making a way for you to know Him (Psalm 46:10)  He is making a way for you to take your, “I cannot do this” and turn it into “He can.”  (Exodus 14:14)  God loves us so much so that when there was no way, He made a way for us to spend eternity with Him through the gift of His Son.  (John 14:6)

Even though I found myself in a place I wasn’t expecting to be in this past year, today I can have hope that God is making a way for me.  There is a journey to be had in this wilderness.  One where I find His hand in mine.  As I journey with God into this new year, all my heart can truly know is that He has been EVERYTHING to me and will continue to be.

It is my sincere prayer for 2015 that we would not let our circumstances keep us from perceiving the marvelous things God is doing in us, with us, through us, and for us.

3 thoughts on “Something New

Leave a Reply

