Naked.

I have been reading through Genesis.  This is one of my favorite books in the Bible.  I probably say this about every book in the Bible, but really Genesis is so good!  Every time I start to read Genesis I have to say my expectations are not very high.  I go into this time of Bible study thinking I have already read these stories so many times why bother reading them…yet again.

Thankfully I pray before I read and ask God to open my heart to what He has prepared for me and I ask Him to show me something new.  I tell you He does every single time.  I end up leaving that time of Bible study so filled with joy because I have learned something new when I least expected to.

So, today in my reading this is what God has really laid on my heart in a new way:

He answered, “I heard you in the garden, and I was afraid because I was naked; so I hid.”  Genesis 3:10

In the chapter before we find a stark contrast to this verse.  In chapter 2 verse 25, the Bible tells us Adam and Eve were both naked and they felt no shame.

What could have possibly happened in just 10 verses to bring that shame?

Satan happened.  Satan deceived Eve, she fell right into his trap and she chose disobedience to God.  In an instant that perfect communion with God was shattered with the shame of their nakedness.

Why did this nakedness bring so much shame?  Their nakedness exposed the truth of what they did.  They disobeyed.  They did the one thing God asked them not to do.  They had the opportunity to choose obedience but instead chose disobedience.

Today, are we afraid to be naked?  I know this word sounds uncomfortable, but I am not talking about taking our clothes off.  I am talking about taking the lies, the sin, the pain, the torment, the doubt, the (insert other here) OFF.

Sometimes I would rather cover myself up with all of these things I was never intended to wear.  I worry that if I take all of these things off, people would see me for what I really feel I am sometimes, a shameful disgrace.  Truth is: Choosing to take off these things exposes the truth of what God has done for me, and you.  

This is something I want everyone to see!  Despite our wrong choices that truly break His heart, Christ surprises us with His love for us.  I would never expect to have fellowship with God after all I have done, but God wants me to be loved by Him and He shows me this love by choosing to send His only Son to die for me all the while knowing the true state of my heart was to choose sin, not Him.  (Romans 5:8).  Knowing this amazing love can help us to remove each piece of shame, exposing the life with Christ we were meant to live.

How incredible that God cared enough for Adam and Eve to provide them with “garments of skin” for clothing to cover the shame of what they had done.  (Gen.3:21) God still cares so much for you and me.  He knows the shame we are going to find ourselves covered in from time to time, but He provides us with a new set of clothing.  This is the clothing I always want to be wearing.  Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.  Colossians 3:12

2 thoughts on “Naked.

Leave a Reply

