Live Loved

I was desperate.  My little human mind could not comprehend what love was.  My damaged past led me to believe all love was, was a bunch of abuse.  I knew deep down inside of me that there had to be another definition for love so I posed this question to just about everyone I knew at the time, “What is love?”

I will never forget my sister’s answer to this question as long as I live.  But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.  (Romans 5:8)

Prior to hearing these words I believed the lie that God did not, could not, would not love me.  This lie was confirmed in my life every time I saw my reflection staring back at me in my mirror.  I tried to hide from the shame but it always poked through.  There was no running away from all I had become.

Once again, hearing God’s truth crushed the lies I was believing.  After reading the words my sister shared with me I sat in awe pondering this love I had never known before:

God’s love fought for me while He was hanging on a cross that bore the weight of my sin and shame.  It should have been me.

His love unlocked me from my cage of sin and shame.

Christ rose from the grave, conquering death and allowing me to live every day of my life with His love wrapped around me.

My response to this love?  Some days it truly paralyzes me.  Some days it causes me to cry tears of joy.  And for all of the days in-between, it excites me to live a life loved.  Because truly that is what you and me are, we are loved.  God’s words say so- His actions prove so.

When we find ourselves in the midst of sin and shame, as hard as it is to believe, we have a way out.  It is Christ’s love.  His love will find you wherever you are.  All you have to do is believe His truth, that He died for you and rose from the grave so that you can live the life you were always intended to live with Him.

Sometimes choosing love is hard, He chose to share that love with you and me when His cross struck the ground, His innocent body nailed, and His perfect blood shed.

There will never be words I can express to my Savior that will even come close to the thankfulness I have in my heart for all He has done for me.  I believe all I can do to show my thanks and love is to live my life, perfectly loved by Him.  For when I do, no shame will ever be found, just His love for the whole world to see.  I know the power His love holds, do you?

I pray today, as you remember all Christ has done for you that you take the time to pray and seek this amazing love He has for you.

Leave a Reply

