His Journey

Here I am after my first day of classes in Amsterdam and all I can say I know for certain is that this is God’s journey and I feel extra privileged to be a part of it!

Since I departed Pittsburgh on Monday God has been paving the way for me to find His peace and His goodness through it all.  I have learned this lesson before but now it is fresh on my mind again, God always comes through.  I have seen this over and over again since Monday.

God came through when I accidentally over packed my suitcase.  I happen to think 76 pounds is quite light for 6 months’ worth of items but apparently unless I would like to pay $400 I was only allowed 50 pounds!  God knew this was going to happen and He provided me with the kindest lady at the United counter.  She helped me sort out my luggage to the appropriate weight, and one of my kind friends purchased a duffle bag for me to use as my carry-on bag.  Here was the interesting part; I was now stuck with the world’s heaviest duffle bag and the world’s heaviest backpack as my carry-on luggage.  The woman at the ticket counter said this was just fine.  The man at the gate had a different opinion.  Again God knew this was going to happen and I was able to check both of my bags at the gate.  This truly was so critical because there is no way I would have been able to fit either bag on the plane!

I had been praying for months that God would bring friendly people along my path for my trip because I was so fearful to travel by myself.  God really answered this prayer!  God came through and as I was walking to my gate a man came up behind me and offered to carry the world’s heaviest duffle bag for me!  He took it all the way to my gate for me.  I shared with him how he is a true answer to my prayers.

Because I ended up not having a bag to take with me on the plane, I decided to take a little Bible with me so I had something to read on the flight to DC.  It just so happened that the man sitting next to me on the plane pulled out his small Bible too.  When I saw his Bible I was instantly comforted.  I immediately knew we had the best thing to ever have in common with someone: a relationship with God!  Sure enough we had a wonderful conversation the whole flight.  We did not get much reading done, but I sure am thankful he took that Bible out of his bag.  He will never know how God used that to bring me so much comfort and peace on this trip.

We traded contact information and I told him I would keep him updated on my trip.  After getting off the plane I just had to send him an email explaining again how thankful I was that God brought him along my path.  He again was an answer to my prayers.  It just so happens he was the answer to my friend’s prayers as well.  One of my friends wrote me a letter to read on the plane.  When I was settled in on the plane to Amsterdam I opened her note.  I literally could not believe what I read in her note:

I just prayed that God would put someone in your travel time today or tomorrow that you could either be a light to them or they to you or you would both be a light to each other.

After reading this I thanked God for answering this prayer and using this man to be a light on my path to Amsterdam.

Arriving to Amsterdam was so strange for me.  I had never been to a foreign place by myself before.  I was so tired that it just didn’t seem real that I was really here!

Once arriving on the base where I will be staying I experienced quite the culture shock.  A combination of uncomfortableness and homesickness overcame me.  It was in this moment I started to doubt everything.  I thought for sure I made a mistake in coming here.  I thought for sure I was going to go book a flight for home as soon as possible.  I called my sister and she prayed for me.  After we ended our call I noticed an email from my new friend from the plane the day before.  God used the words in His email to get my heart and mind back on track.  The doubts faded and a peace invaded me.  Oh how thankful I am for who God brings into our lives and the way He uses them for such amazing purposes.  I know there is a special reason for this person entering my life.

Now onto today:

During quiet time with the Lord this morning I specifically asked Him to bring me lots of little things throughout the day to comfort me.  Once again God answered this prayer!  When we arrived to class we started with a time of worship.  The very first song we sang just so happens to be one of my favorites and my mother’s favorite as well.  This song always makes me think of my mom and dad.  I was so comforted in knowing God answered my prayer in this special way.  It was in this moment I knew God was going to continue to answer this prayer for me.

The name of this blog is inspired from a verse in Isaiah, 58:12.  The verse says, …you will be called Repairer of Broken Walls, Restorer of Streets with Dwellings.  This verse God laid so heavy on my heart.  During class we received our reading materials.  One of the books reminds me of this verse.  Seeing this book not only comforted me but also confirmed that God has me here for a reason!  I am expecting Him to teach me even more about what this verse means specifically for me and why He has laid it so very heavy on my heart.

I know that whatever God does in and through this school is going to be better than anything I can think or imagine.  I am so excited to see God work!  I am so thankful that He has led me to this place for “such a time as this.”

Thank you for your continued love, support, and prayers.  I am missing you all so very much!

Until next time,

Diane

Leave a Reply

